Now that Cardinals baseball is over for the season – a lament

LamentNow that Cardinals baseball is over,
Part of my life is missing.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
Life does not have to be arranged around what time the game is on.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I will put my Cardinals T-shirts away until spring.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I can work out more and eat less.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I won’t have to check my At Bat app during Bible study
To see if the Cards are winning.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
Sunday afternoons will be empty without games to watch or listen to.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I won’t hear Mike Shannon or John Rooney calling games on the radio,
Or hear Dan McLaughlin on TV for a while,
And that makes me sad.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I won’t be seeing my fellow Cardinals bloggers and fans on Twitter as much,
And that makes me sad too.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I won’t be reading the sports section as much
Since there won’t be as much coverage about Cardinals baseball.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
Maybe I can do some writing on my other blogs
And work on other projects.

Now that Cardinals baseball is over,
I will be counting the days until spring training starts.

But for now, I will be going to bed soon,
And crying myself to sleep
Thinking about the “what ifs”
And what could have been.

Like Scarlett O’Hara used to say,
“Tomorrow is another day,”
And hopefully it will be better.

Congrats to the Cubs – they earned it. At least I got to see the one good postseason game this year. I will write another post on what I think the Cards need to do in the offseason in the next couple of days. Thanks as always for reading.

Diane

3 thoughts on “Now that Cardinals baseball is over for the season – a lament

  1. Very well said. Cheers to next season!

    On Tuesday 10/13/2015 at 10:31 pm, Women Who Love Cardinals Baseball wrote: > > Diane1611 posted: “Now that Cardinals baseball is over, Part of my > life is missing. Now that Cardinals baseball is over, Life does not > have to be arranged around what time the game is on. Now that > Cardinals baseball is over, I will put my Cardinals T-shirts away un” >

  2. While I am happy that your first post season game was a winner, let me share this is what every true blue Cubs fan has experienced since 1945 to be in a championship game. From 1908 was a winning team. Cub fans have gathered together, enjoying the game, not just this team. Many of us have stuck through the lean years, before 1984, I myself experienced my first game was the year after the great Ernie Banks retired. I got to see him play in the old timers game in 1990 at Wrigley. He was a shadow of his playing years, however, he loved the game, played for the game. My second game was the Big Red Machine at Wrigley. For a teenager, they where giants compared to my Cubs of the 70s. We have endured many hardships, watched many teams not only win, but also repeat. We have seen teams set the standard and wished, prayed, begged for an opportunity to show others why we care so much. We even the Marlins, 5 years in, buy/rent, whatever, acquire something that we have given our hearts, voice and emotions for, to watch it treated like person that was picked up for the night. Cub fans are true Blue, they hold onto values that Harry Carry showed of being upset when we know that some player is not giving his all, looking at the money and not the game.

Leave a Reply

