It don’t come easy

The title of this post is also the title of a song written by Ringo Starr in 1970.  This song came to mind while I was reflecting on how the Cards won the NLDS and the play-in game last Friday night.  Neither of these games were won easy, especially last night’s.  Down to the last strike  – again.  The Cards are such drama kings, waiting until the very last minute to score.  They have got to stopping winning games and series this way.  I don’t think my heart can take that much excitement. I thought I was going to have to take another dose of blood pressure medicine last night! This team just won’t quit and they won’t give up.  They have heart and they have grit.

I sheepishly admit that I didn’t think the Cards were going to win last night, especially after Adam Wainwright spotted the Nats 6 runs in the first 2 innings.  I lost faith in our boys.  Please forgive me;  I’ll try not to let it happen again.  My hubby turned off the game and watched the Friday night shows on CBS.  Hubby had shoulder surgery last month and he’s been sleeping in the recliner in the living room at night.  He got tired around 10:30 and wanted to go to sleep, so I had to shut down the computer.  I had been following the game on Twitter and saw that the Cards were slowly adding runs and I started getting my hopes up.

My regular readers will remember the post I wrote last year about Game 6 of the World Series and that I went to bed after Josh Hamilton hit a home run, missing David Freese’s walk off home run to force a Game 7.  Since the Cards’ side of the score was slowly creeping up, I thought there just might be a chance they would win and I wasn’t going to miss it this time around.  We have a boom box stereo in our bedroom, so I took my headphones into the bedroom and listened to Mike and John on KMOX through my headphones.  I then posted on Twitter using my smart phone. (I’m @Diane1611 on Twitter if you want to follow me).    Hubby got up around 11:10 and went to the bathroom.  He then came into the bedroom.  “You’re still up? What’s the score?” he asked.

“9-7 Cards, bottom of the 9th and 2 outs!” I replied.  Hubby then decided to stay up and turn the TV back on.  By the time the TV came back to life, the game was over and the Cards had won.  We stayed up until almost midnight watching the commentators and the champagne showers in the locker room.  Yesterday was my hubby’s birthday, so this big win made it a special birthday for him.  It took me a while to get to sleep last night, as I’m sure it did for the rest of you.

Now that the Cards are going to the NLDS, let’s look at some improvements that need to be made.  The 3-4-5 hitters in the lineup have got to start hitting.   Too many players are being left on base.  It’s elementary – if you can’t score, you don’t win.  Make the pitcher earn that out.  Be patient at the plate and wait for a good ball to hit.  Relief pitching is very strong, so no problems there. but starting pitching needs to go a little longer.

Now I can’t wait until tomorrow night’s game – can you?  Thanks for reading – I’ll post again soon!

Diane

Leave a Reply

