So when did you become a Cardinals fan?

My mom & dad were Cardinals fans, but I didn’t become a Cardinals
fan until September 11, 1974. That was the night that the Cardinals
played the Mets for 25 innings. My mom and I stayed up and listened to
all 25 innings. The game didn’t get over until 2:00 in the morning – I
must not have had school the next day, or Mom wouldn’t have let me stay
up that late. LOL! You can see the box score for that game here.
That game had more drama than a soap opera! After that, I started
listening to Jack and Mike on the radio with my mom and dad. There
weren’t too many games on TV back then, except the ones on KSD with Jay
Randolph. I’ve been a Cardinals fan ever since.

My first
husband was not a baseball fan. During the 1982 World Series, he teased
me unmercifully during the games the Cardinals lost very badly. I got
mad & went to watch the game in the bedroom. During the last game,
when the Cards were getting ready to win the Series, my ex got a wild
hair up his butt that he had to go to his mother’s house. We got to his
mother’s house in time to see the celebration on the field. There were
other obvious problems with the marriage besides this. My present
husband, however, is a big Cardinals fan. He said he married me because
I’m the only woman that knows as much about baseball as he does. 🙂 His
family talks about sports as well, even his mother & his sisters,
so I fit in well with them.

This love of the Cardinals has not
passed to the next generation in my family, unfortunately; my daughter
went over to the dark side and became a Cubs fan, and my son roots for
whoever is playing the Cardinals (although my husband says he does this
to irritate me).

I’d love to hear when you first became a Cardinals fan and how long you’ve been a fan. Please leave a comment.

That’s all for now. See you soon!

Diane

Leave a Reply

